Week 3: Classmate Interview – Summer Morgan

Summer (left) and me (right)

Summer (left) and me (right)

Not too long after my first instagram photo of the day, I bumped into Summer at the entrance of the SOA courtyard. Since I just took my first instagram for the activity, I wanted to know how Summer’s progress was coming along. Unfortunately, Art 110 was her first class and she hadn’t been able to take any pictures yet since her day just started not too long ago. We started with general questions just to get to know each other a little more. She is a first year at CSULB and is studying Psychology. She also dorms on campus so I asked where is she from. She is from a small town a little up north near CSU San Luis Obispo. Unfortunately, I found out that Long Beach was not her ideal college choice so she might not be coming back next year.

Summer wanted to study somewhere closer to home and her first choice was actually CSUSLO. Like her, CSULB was not my first choice as well. She does have some friends from back home that goes to CSULB. I do as well but I don’t see them often. Most of my friends from my city when to other schools such as UCI and UCR. Summer has a really strong bond with her family and takes the train back home almost every weekend. However, because of this she hasn’t really gotten the opportunities to make a lot of new friends or take in the full experience CSULB has to offer. I also had trouble making new friends my first semester but by the time second semester ended, I met way more people than I expected and have become great friends with them. As my time here goes on, I enjoy Long Beach more everyday.

None the less, I was very surprised and impressed by how she makes the trip back home every weekend because I have some friends that dorm at different colleges but I don’t think any of them would go home almost every weekend. Especially when the trip is in the hundreds of miles. It just shows me how strong willed she is and what she would do for her family. It made me think about how I connect with my family. Sometimes I take them for granted. I kind of got jealous of how she is with her family. They way she described it is like something you would see in a movie. She has four siblings, two brothers and two sisters, and she loves them all. I understand why she wants to move back home, it is scary living on your own. Hopefully when I live on my own I will still be able to see my family because they are the ones that will always be there for me.

Leave a Reply

