Week 6: Artist Interview – Christine Fuqua

11005911_833892013324288_396692165_n

The first hobby that I ever had a serious intention of doing was woodcutting. Back in 7th and 8th grade my school had a wood shop program so I had access to wood and a shop. However, after that I no longer had access so I couldn’t really do much. I really enjoyed making things while it lasted. So as soon as I saw the wood arts gallery I just had to check it out. This gallery features many artists but the star on Thursday was Christine Fuqua. She is one of the few among the wood majors.

Christine didn’t actually start out as a wood major. She originally started with photography but had to take a shop class and ended up really enjoying wood shop. She still does photography sometimes and actually used the blog that she made for Art 110 to promote her photography! In the future, Christine wants to work with Pete Nelson from Animal Planet. She really enjoys working with her hands but hates the designing process. She would rather have someone else design it and let her build it. I totally understand where she is coming from. I also love working with my hands. But I do think the designing stage can also be fun at times. There was a time in woodshop where we made CO2 dragster cars and I loved designing mine since it allowed me to stretch my imagination.

Left to right:  Bailey Francis "Kebiki" Karlena McRae "Hair Clip" Christine Fuqua "Spoon" Karlena McRae "Clave"

Left to right:
Bailey Francis “Kebiki”
Karlena McRae “Hair Clip”
Christine Fuqua “Spoon”
Karlena McRae “Clave”

At the moment, Christine is making spoons. She has people design it and she crafts it. She actually has a spoon on display in the gallery. It is the second item on the right side of the picture above. She also has another work on display and it is a twisted table. It is kind of hard to see but it is in the center of the photo below. I asked her what kind of technique she used because I remember back in my junior year of high school I had to make a boat for Physics. I thought about making a canoe and my teacher recommended that I soak the wood in a pool of water to make it more flexible. However, Christine used another technique called cold molding. She first builds the form that she wants then layers the wood on and uses glue to hold it in shape.

11026438_833892023324287_651521896_n

Below are some pictures of other people’s work that I found interesting. Visiting this gallery makes me want to pursue woodshopping as a hobby in the future. Maybe once I have the funds.

Michael Vanoverbeck "Burnt Vessel"

Michael Vanoverbeck “Burnt Vessel”

I thought this was interesting how it is a bowl made from one piece of wood. Or so I assume.

Samantha Petrovich "2014 Morgan"

Samantha Petrovich “2014 Morgan”

11039358_833892186657604_1025682142_n

2014 Morgan

I thought the “2014 Morgan” was really clever since it describes a car with an ash wood frame with a layer of aluminum around it held by nails. Like the real car, the weave of the car was framed with ash wood and had a layer of aluminum around it hammered in with nails.

Leave a Reply

