Week 9: Artist Interview – Sheila Ann Rodriguez

961731_844390778941078_88015276_n

Uprooted

This Thursday I had opportunity to visit Sheila Ann Rodriguez’s gallery, Uprooted. Unfortunately I did not see Rodriguez at her gallery so I was unable to interview her. Instead, this blog will be based off her Artist Statement and what my interpretation of her work is. Rodriguez’s work is based on the idea that humans need a deep relationship with places so that there’s importance in human existence. However, modern times have kind of washed away the need for a relationship to a home. 

Like Rodriguez, I too did not stay in one “home” for long. My family never owned a house so we always rented. It wasn’t until I started high school that my family kind of settled in one location. We have been living in our current home for about 6 years and this is probably the longest we have ever stayed in one place. Rodriguez believed that the “home” is always changing, and never lasting. I agree with her up to a certain extent. We as college students are still young and probably want to travel and experiment in different places. I believe that eventually most of us will find a home to settle in.

Rodriguez also believes that “in the modern world, historical and cultural conditions are eroding the experience of a profound form of attachment to a home place.” I completely agree with her. I have 2 younger siblings that all they do at home is play on the iPad or computer. They aren’t really building any experience or relationship to our home. Before the time of internet, kids would go outside and play in the front yard, nearby park, hang out with friends, etc. All those activities are what make the home significant. It is sad to no longer see kids at the park or play ball outside. Occasionally I try my best to take them away from the internet and play with them outside.

The way Rodriguez weaved the thread into the wood was really unique. The thread represents the roots of the home on the wood. All the threads were also different, some were longer, some were shorter; this could represent how much of a relationship one has with a home. The threads were also manipulated through “knotting, twining, coiling, pleating, lashing, crochet, sewing, and interlacing organic patterns to rectangular cut-offs” which showed what kind of emotional connection there was to a house. When I visited Rodriguez’s gallery, I feel like I was able to connect to her work on another level. Seeing all the different houses and roots just kind of took me back to all the different homes I’ve had and all the memories I’ve made in each one.

Leave a Reply

